My new Gallery Site

I think I must have the best job in the world. I get to photograph the most amazing architecture at the best times of day. I get to travel to exotic locations. My clients love my work. Yup, the best job in the world.

2011 was a great year at Sohm Photografx. I photographed lots of architecture, of course, but also entered into an unexpected second career photographing gala openings, conventions, and award ceremonies, in short, “event” photography.

I also created a new gallery website to showcase my recent projects. The site is located at:

sohmphoto.smugmug.com

The site allows me to post very nice galleries of my best photos and even allows viewers to purchase images right on the site.  It gives me a way to share photos with a wider audience and a way to show prospective clients examples of my work.

I have divided my smugmug galleries into categories that cater to different types of viewers.

Under architecture, I post my most recent architectural shoots including intimate projects like the St. Joseph the Worker Catholic Church in West Jordan (one of my most favorite shoots of 2011), the exotic Monument Valley Elementary School, the grandiose City Creek Center, and the high tech JL Sorenson Molecular Biotechnology Building on the University of Utah campus.

Events include conventions and gala events such as the grand openings of the Leonardo science and art museum and the Natural History Museum of Utah and the AIA Utah Design awards. It also includes photos from the SMPS national conference in Chicago at which I was hired to be official event photographer. Besides being a lot of work (and fun) the SMPS Conference required that I take formal studio-type portraits of award winners. Fulfilling that challenge required transporting studio lighting, backdrops, etc., via airline to the convention site and back, which turns out to be rather tricky. The results, though, were fabulous.

Portraits include corporate portraiture as well as family shoots.

The landscapes category contains some of my best western landscapes, soon to be augmented by photos from my recent trip to Monument Valley, Northern Arizona, and Upper Antelope Canyon.

I hope you take a look at my sohmphoto.smugmug.com site for my latest and greatest. Since is a better way to see my work, most of my future blog entries will refer views to that site to see the “good stuff.”

