Sohm Photos Appear in 2013 Utah Scenic Calendar

I was much honored to have two of my photos appear in the prestigious 2013 “Official Scenic Calendar” published each year by the Utah Office of Tourism. This Calendar wins awards nearly ever year for its smart design and breathtaking images of the diversities on Utah’s landscapes. The calendar draws on photographers nationwide and always receives hundreds of extremely high-quality candidates each year. This will be my second year to be selected for inclusion in the calendar.

My photos appear not as full-page main images at the top of each month, but as smaller “insert” in accompanying information pages.

The following photo of hot-air balloons rising above monument valley appeared as one of the January inserts.

Sohm-1202-9359 v4 Monument Valley cropped

I was suspended 1,000 feet above the valley floor when I took this picture. The only thing separating me from the ground was 1,000 of air and about 1/2 inch of woven wicker that makes up all balloon baskets. It was a spectacularly beautiful day in February, 2012. The ride is one I will never forget.

The other picture is surprisingly urban in this mostly landscape publication. It shows riders in Utah’s prestigious ” Tour of Utah” riding under the Eagle Gate in downtown Salt Lake City. Here it is:

Sohm-1108-9596 v3 Tour of Utahcropped

The Tour of Utah is now an internationally-recognized major bicycle “stage race” that combines five days of grueling races that has rightfully acquired the well-deserved reputation as “America’s Toughest Stage Race.”

 

